Good-Bye Olympics

The Olympics are over!!  I’m kind of glad.  Time to move on in life. 🙂  But I have to say…I ended up being quite impressed with the Chinese.  They threw one excellent Olympic games!  The venues, the sites, the city, the ceremonies, etc.  Very well done.

I’ve always been a fan of the crab ragoon and General Tso’s chicken…but the Chinese have just gone up a notch in regards to my opinion (I’m sure the billions of them feel better about that now).

Post-Sunday Reflections

Just a few notes from yesterday’s worship.  Second week in a row that we had two services (don’t worry…I’ll drop this subject eventually…it is still just so new to me 🙂 ):

  • Had more people there yesterday than the week before (new non-holiday record).
  • My wife and kids came at 11:00 a.m.  It was weird not having them at 9:00 a.m.
  • A lot of 1st time guests.
  • My grandmother gave the tithes and offerings comments at 11:00 a.m.  This would normally not be a big deal unless you consider that it was the first time she has ever done anything like that in 82 years!!!  Seriously…her religious tradition is acappella Churches of Christ where women did not get up and speak!  It was a first.  It was a big deal.  I’m very proud.
  • Sidenote:  my grandmother accidentally referred to us as The Rolling Stones (rather than Living Stones).  She didn’t catch it when she said it and until she reads this blog probably still doesn’t know.  I thought it was fantastic! 🙂 Memaw’s subconscious coming out.  She Can’t Get No Satisfaction!
  • If you haven’t yet, read Genesis 3-11!  Then listen to the podcast.
  • Our volunteers are awesome!