Property Taxes

Posted: January 2, 2009 in Finances
Tags:

Property tax bill came in the mail.  That is usually a moment of great sadness and weeping.  Seriously…our property taxes are ridiculousCentre township has ridiculous assessments.  BUT – this year…my taxes were cut in HALF!!  HALF!!!!  Happy New Year to me!!!  I guess we really did get property tax relief!  I’m hoping this isn’t some cruel jokeGMAC mortgage…where is my check for overpaid escrow?

Long live Governor Mitch Daniels!!

Anyone else receive good news?

Comments
  1. Melissa says:

    Mine were also! Not only that, but they were paid in 2008 so I can claim the deduction on my taxes. Yeah!

  2. Tina D. says:

    Our taxes weren’t cut in half but it is a good reduction. The mortgage company didn’t pay them before Dec 31st so no deduction for us!

  3. Corey says:

    Mine went down too by about 50%, but still not enough for me to make any money as a landlord. I will be paying out of my own pocket about $100/month this year since I am now renting the house because I was unable to sell it in the current market. And the rental price can only go so high before I out price the market. I am still waiting to see in a couple of years how this all works itself out though, because I do not think it is all over yet.

  4. Lori says:

    Our taxes were not that much lower. We went earlier this week to pay them and was there from 8:00 in the morning until after 10:30. They had only 1 girl at the tax window. The computer had gone down and she had to write everything by hand. There were several people in line ahead of us that had folders full of properties that had to be each written and filed by hand. The line was so long by the time we left that the people comming in had about a 3-4 hour wait to get up to the window.

  5. Janelle says:

    Almost a 50% cut here, too. I’m looking forward to my escrow adjustment!

  6. Carla says:

    Whew! Good tax news for many of us, the monthly payment adjustment will really make a difference – here is to Mitch, now we need to keep our eyes on the Council so they do not implement a much sought after COIT – by the way where is that 40 some million $$$ they keep talking about?

Leave a Reply

