Obama’s TV

Posted: January 8, 2009 in Politics
Tags:

Just heard that the Obama Administration is pushing for a delay in the switch from analog to digital television broadcasting.  John Podesta (Obama co-chair of transition team) has sent a letter to top Republicans and Democrats in Congress urging them to postpone this shift as the “coupons” to subsidize the cost of a converter box has either run out or run low.  They claim that the most vulnerable in regards to the aged and rural have not been given adequate time for preparation.

Dear God, please don’t let Congress grant this request.  I can’t take one more public service reminder about this transition.  Just let it happen! 

Please Obama…I’m pulling for you.  I want you to be a great President.  But this is not the path.

Comments
  1. alex says:

    Sam, I agree, just stick with the deadline. The human race is lazy and no matter how much time you give people, some will always wait until the last minute. Look at tax season. Everybody knows when taxes are due and what needs to happen in preperation for them, and you always see a huge line of people just days, even hours, before they’re due.

  2. tim says:

    OK…so I waited until the last minute and YES I’m on the waiting list, soooooooooo I’ll take the extra time!!

  3. Doug says:

    No kidding? We are really changing to digital broadcast? Who knew…?

    Was there some sort of warning or something? I mean, I guess maybe I could have possibly missed it….

  4. The Bishop says:

    I thought President-elect Obama was an advocate of change. Along comes the change and now he wants to stay mired in the land of non-digital. I’m terribly disappointed.

Leave a Reply

