My Wife and I Are Fighting

Posted: January 15, 2009 in Family, Schools, South Bend

Kelly and I are fighting this morning.  And in my infinite wisdom and discernment, I thought I would carry the fight over to SAM I AM so everyone can clearly see my side and weigh in.  Kelly…when you see the error of your way feel free to leave your apology in the comment section 🙂 .

So…Kelly is upset with South Bend Community Schools because they didn’t cancel school this morning.  Her arguments.  I don’t remember.  They were pretty weak.  I think they were along the lines of temperature and that every major school district in our area cancelled (Mishawaka, Penn-Madison, Niles, Elkhart, etc.).  Everyone but South Bend.

I don’t blame South Bend Community Schools one bit!  In fact, I blame the meteorologists who got everyone all hyped up anyhow.  To even use the word “blizzard” in any way for what is happening now is an offense to anyone who lived back in 1977 & 1978.  It’s cold outside.  Well…boo hoo hoo.  We live in South Bend, Indiana in the middle of January.  OF COURSE it is cold outside.  We didn’t get the massive snow falls they predicted last night.  We didn’t get the huge wind gusts with its accompanying wind chills like they predicted last night.  In fact, as I drove to work the sky was perfectly clear!!  And the roads (including my little cul-de-sac had already been plowed)!!

So…Superintendent Kapsa I’m with you!!  Good call.  Shame on all the other weak school corporations who cancelled because they fell into the meteorologists’ hype to get better ratings.  I’m hacked off we cancelled all our meetings last night.  For what?!  Nothing happened!

I get everyone likes a good snow day.  Stuck in the house; wearing pajama pants; no guilt because you couldn’t do anything anyhow.  But this is no such day.

Kelly…I’m awaiting my apology 🙂  And if you would like to cook me my favorite dinner tonight as an act of repentance, I’m open to such penance.

[does anyone have a spare room in their house I might be able to sleep in…just temporarily…if it comes to that?]

Comments
  1. Lori says:

    You can bunk at my house if you want. For payment you can bring your snow shovel and dig my car out for me lol.

  2. the wife says:

    Shouldn’t there be some kind of compensation for living with this man?

  3. Lorinda says:

    Sorry Sam, I’m with Kelly on this one. We kept our kids home from school anyway. Kya’s pre-school was closed also.

  4. David Wilson says:

    You can stay with us, Sam. We’re all living with my parents right now, so it my get a little cozy. Better start driving, though. Oh, and did I mention that there’s no snow here?

  5. Ann says:

    Sorry boss, I’m siding with Kelly! Just now turning on the TV and seeing all the schools that were on delay now closed makes me angry! If Noah hadn’t been sick he still would have stayed home. Thank goodness the schools are allowing the weather as an excused absent. There must have been plenty of people calling in this morning because when I called in for Sarah the attendance office asked if it was because of the weather. At least the kids won’t be penalized because of the corporation’s bad decision!!!!!!

  6. Ann says:

    Just for the record. They predicted 3-6” for last night and into this morning, we got 4”. I’d say they did a pretty good job on that.

  7. Andrew says:

    I disagree with the school corporation!!! My mommy let me stay home even though South Bend is stupid enough to keep school open
    HOW ATROCIOUS!!

  8. Melissa says:

    I’m siding with Sam on this one. The roads were pretty well cleared this morning (except for my cul de sac, which has apparently been deemed a no plow zone) so I don’t know why the schools need to close. Not making school a priority is one of our social ills, isn’t it?

  9. Ed says:

    After picking my son up today (we have a 15 min drive) one of the teachers said that the biggest reason is that the schools, sadly, are one of the few places where a good portion of the school system attendees can go to get breakfast and or lunch, and a warm environment. So school is on.

    HOWEVER, it is an excused absence if parents choose to not send the kids. They just forget to advertise THAT fact.

  10. alex says:

    I agree with Sam only because I was in the Mishawaka School District and they never closed school for snow or temperature. So it is about time South Bend students had to suffer like I did. Everybody else would be closed except Mishawaka. The reason why we never closed is because Mishawaka doesn’t have a bus system. So there was never any reason to close because we all know that it is so much easier for car to drive through the snow, than it is for a bus. If we didn’t and a ride we either had to use public Transpo. or in my case walk 45 MINUTES to an HOUR to get to my middle school in at least 10 inches of snow. So it is about time Mishawaka closed school for the sake of the kids, like me who had to walk. Having a bus system is a luxery in my eyes. And I guarentee that if Joe Trimboli was the prinicipal at Mishawaka the school would not be closed.

  11. scmiller says:

    I vote Sam with this exception: There is a temperature point where it is time to keep the kids home regardless of total snow fall. It may be winter, but subzero actual temperatures are not normal for us. And a lot of underdressed kids will end up at bus stops exposed to frost bite and hypothermia.

    Tomorrow may be a tough call because of the temps.

  12. Doreen says:

    I agree with both Sam & Kelly on this. I cannot believe South Bend left schools open when all other schools closed. However, my thought, is I drive my kids to school and their Dad picks them up so school is definitely where I want my children to be at. I am sure I am like many families, when schools close have to get a babysitter. This is not always easy for some of us, therefore school is best option!

  13. Ann…you’re fired 🙂

  14. eB says:

    The doghouse should be easy to shovel out, hope it’s well insulated in there.

    My mom worked at my bus-less elementary / middle / high school so we not only got there early we had to have a snow day or be seriously sick to miss a day. Sometimes we were already at school when the closing was called.

  15. The Bishop says:

    Your old room is no longer available. My home office is in there now. Remember, “You can never go home again.”

  16. Ann says:

    Does that mean I don’t have to come in tomorrow?

  17. Ann says:

    Seriously, has anyone checked the weather? The temp is 4, windchill at -16, just in time for the primary schools to be letting out. Didn’t they forecast falling temps and windchill? I can’t wait to see what happens tomorrow morning when the temps drop down to -10 and windchills even colder.

  18. Mindy says:

    if it makes you feel better… 39,000 students at Purdue are expected to be in classes today- walking all over campus, in the -10 degree (-30 degree windchill)- sometimes with classes as far as a 25 minute walk away…I’d say about 10,000 of them are actually out and about today with at least 4 layers of clothing… however.. their blood alcohol content may be keeping them a bit warmer 🙂

  19. Dana says:

    Who called to cancel our meeting last night? The weather team? Weak… ha ha!

  20. Amy O says:

    As a SB Schools Teacher, I have to weigh in on this one. I must admit once I got on the main roads, it was not terribly bad, although my neighborhood had not yet been plowed. However, there are a few problems I have in spite of that:

    1. SB Schools already has a TERRIBLE image in the community and media. It is frustrating to those of us who work our butts off every day in the SB Schools to look like idiots in the media once again when we are the one only school open.
    2. I (and several of my fellow teachers) saw several groups of kids standing the street waiting for their buses because sidewalks and other areas were not clear for them to stand. All it takes is for one driver to lose control and slide into those groups of kids and we have a tragedy.
    3. Only about half of the kids who attend my school were there today, so it was very difficult to move forward educationally when you know you are going to have repeat the instruction for the half of the class who missed it in the first place. It is not like there are one or two kids missing who can catch up.
    4. I really like Mr. Kapsa and was hoping that positive things were coming and that he could bring a new image and change to the SBCSC, but now he has kind of shot himself in the foot with his image in the community and taken several steps backward.

  21. Jim Ruth says:

    I agree with you totally Pastor. I’m glad the folks who cry at 10 degree temps didn’t ride the Mayflower. “OHH please turn back! The seas are getting too bumpy!!!” Girlie Men! By the way I called the receptionist at about 4:00 PM and told her thanks for keeping the kids in school. She said I was the ONLY one all day who called and thanked me profusly. She was on the phone all day taking calls from irate (with a capital Wimp) parents. All Day! How sad.

  22. Samson says:

    I am going to side with my mom on this one. I’m not a mama’s boy, but the weather was bad! It is freezing outside !!!! It was so cold that it burns! I can’t believe that SB didn’t even give a 1 or 2 hour delay! The only positive thing about it is that my siblings are going to school and I’m not. (I don’t go to SB) So I get a break from them! I just took a look at the tv and I already have a 2 hour delay. It is -10 degrees outside! If SB doesn’t close they are insane.

  23. Jennifer C says:

    I agree with Amy O 100%.

  24. Kelly won. I lost. Go figure. 😦

    It’s butt cold out there!!!

    I’m hoping it isn’t butt cold in my bed tonight! 🙂

  25. Janelle says:

    I think your opinion on the matter will depend greatly on the age of your children, the mode of transportation your children use to get to school and your childcare options. As a working single mom, (and there are lots of us out there) it’s not always easy to find a plan B at the drop of a hat. –And a lot of times that plan B requires getting the kids up an hour earlier and dragging them out in the weather ANYWAY. I’m lucky to have been blessed with wonderful people in my life, but there are others that are not so lucky.

    If you think it’s too dangerous to send your kids to school, keep them home. You have that option. If the buildings are closed, you’ve lost an option.

  26. Melissa says:

    I read the interview in the Tribune with Mr. Kapsa yesterday. I thought he explained himself well so I don’t think he damaged his image too much.

  27. Late to the dance. I’m with Kelly! This is SB Indiana, not Int’l Falls, MN. I still love snow days cuz it’s like a little redemption for us dreamers.

  28. Voice in the Wilderness says:

    Is it cold enough now for you?

  29. David Wilson says:

    Nashville schools closed today because the termperatures were in single digits to teens. No snow or otherwise inclimate weather. Based on scmiller’s comment, I guess I’ll have sympathy on those unfortunate children who would have to wait on a school bus without proper clothing. Otherwise, I think it’s nonsense.

  30. Michelle says:

    I agree with Kelly and Amy O. I kept all my kids home because of the sever cold temperatures. The snow banks are so High a Car would never even see Julian he is so small. But in the end if the school is not going to close I feel it is in the best interest of your children to keep them safe especially with all the sickness going around we don’t need them to get worse.

  31. kristi says:

    I am with Kelly on that one. 3 of my kids go to school and it was extremely cold. I’m glad that they didnt get frost bite. I did keep my 4 yr old home though from headstart.
    Thankgoodness they cancelled on friday….way to darn cold!!!!!!!!

  32. Sherri says:

    Sorry, Sam, I’m with Kelly on this one, and hurray for Amy O! Only about 60% of my students showed up on Thursday and most classes at Lincoln had even less than that! I think it’s ludicrous to expect kids to walk to school or stand at bus stops in sub zero temps. This is NOT normal weather for our area. You know yourself what the socio-economic status is of many of Monroe’s kids. Do they have clothing to protect them while walking a 1/2 mile to school? I’d venture to say that most of them do not. Also, I’d like to point out that as a professional with two college degrees, I like to consider myself employed by an organization that should be considered more than just a “day care” facility. If your kids are sick and can’t attend school, you have to have a Plan B. Same goes for snow days or cold temperature days…sorry.

  33. Janet says:

    I’m with Kelly,…… sorry Sam.

  34. Glenn says:

    Wah wah wah. Poor kids. When I grew up a foot of snow was considered a good start. Now its 2 to 4 inches run for milk and bread before the entire city shuts down. If the world got payed by as many times as the weather people are wrong we would all be rich. I say suck it up and get to school. I’m with Sam. I hope my wife is’nt reading this : )

  35. latenitemike says:

    Sam can’t side with you , your on your cold own, I got off at midnight, and my van was frozen, and wouldnt’ start, bless god a freind was kind enough to give me a ride home. -17* + windchill it was cold enough… and i got frostbit toboot….

    nope no school for the kiddioes….

    And Sam, havent you learned by now…. fighting over things at home, making mom miserible, MAKEs THE WHOLE HOUSE MISERABLE!!!

    better to kiss and make up and have peace…if your lips don’t freeze together….

Leave a Reply

