Inauguration Day!!

Posted: January 20, 2009 in Politics
Tags: ,

Today we get a new President.  And I’m excited about it.  I say that without passing much commentary in regards to voting stances or views about outgoing Presidents.  It is change.  It is an exciting time.  The vast majority of the country is excited.  I am too. 

I really do hope that Barack Obama will go down in history as one of the greatest Presidents who ever served in the oval office.  My prayers are for him, his family, and his new administration.  May justice and peace prevail.

I’m also excited for George W. Bush.  I can’t imagine a more relieved man then he must be on this day.  It is always interesting to see the “before” and “after” pictures of the President and how much they aged while serving as President.  I can’t imagine the burden and stress he must have been under EVERY DAY for the past eight years.  Talk about a leadership position!  George W. Bush has been THE LEADER of the free world for eight years!  And as leader, I’m positive:

  1. He knows things NO ONE else knows and no one else wants to know.
  2. He knows things he WISHES he didn’t know.
  3. He is aware of how many times his decisions saved or lost lives (literally).
  4. Even when he went on vacation…he never got to be on vacation.
  5. EVERY decision will be met with anger and hostility from some.
  6. You absorb the criticism and blame for things that you have absolutely no control in or over.

So, to President George W. Bush – enjoy this day as well.  May you sleep well.  And may the heavy mantle you wore as President now be transferred and carried with grace and dignity by the one who comes after you.  Go on a cruise.  You deserve it.

Comments
  1. Helen says:

    Thank you for your great comments and I agree totally with every one of them. Helen

  2. The Bishop says:

    Amen.

  3. Lorinda says:

    As a mom of African-American children I can’t tell you how excited I am for them. For me to be able to say, Yes, you can do and be anything you want and really believe it does my heart good. Boy, have we had some intersting coversations at the dinner table at our house.

  4. alex says:

    Very well put, Bro.

Leave a Reply

