Off to Creative Church Conference in Texas

Posted: February 18, 2009 in conferences
Tags: ,

I’m on my way to Grapevine, TX for my annual trip to Fellowship Church’s Creative Church Conference.  I’m looking forward to the conference.  Thanks to the generosity of Jim Counts, Sr., and his wife, Lynn, I am well treated in this venture.  It is good to be in a different environment, setting, and context.  Helps me think better about Living Stones

Plus…I’m in for a lot of “preacher gawking.”  I’m in Texas.  I get a kick out of the hipster-dufus preacher look that is sported around these parts.  Before I go I need to stock up on hair gel and stylish glasses…maybe even a rhinestone shirt! 🙂

Comments
  1. Ann says:

    PLEASE do not come back with a rhinestone shirt!

  2. Doug says:

    Don’t hate the playa; hate the game.

  3. Kneip says:

    Just make sure you eat some barbecue for me…

  4. Michelle says:

    Yeah David but where he is going there is no Sheps Barbeque or Little Mexicos…

  5. Amy O says:

    I’m OK with the shiny rhinestone shirt, but if you start wearing “girl” pants we will have to talk. 🙂

  6. Voice in the Wilderness says:

    Ok, got this picture of Sam in a Stetson, rhinestone shirt and singing this song…actually song stuck in my head right now.

    Boys Don’t Cry – I Wanna Be A Cowboy

    Riding on the range,
    I’ve got my hat – on,
    I’ve got my boots – dusty.

    I’ve got my saddle
    On my horse.
    He’s called….T-t-t-t-t-trigger
    Of course.

    I wanna be a cowboy
    and you can be my cowgirl
    I wanna be a cowboy
    and you can be my cowgirl
    I wanna be a cowboy

    Riding on the chuck wagon,
    Following my man.
    His name is Ted,
    Can you believe that?
    Camping on the prairie
    Plays havoc with my hair.
    Makes me feel quite dirty,
    Though we all do sometimes

    I wanna be a cowboy
    and you can be my cowgirl
    I wanna be a cowboy
    and you can be my cowgirl
    I wanna be a cowboy

    Looking like a hero,
    Six-gun at my side,
    Chewing my tobacco.
    Out on the horizon,
    I see a puff of smoke.
    Indians on the warpath,
    White man speak-em
    with forked tongue.
    Or not.

    I wanna be a cowboy
    and you can be my cowgirl
    I wanna be a cowboy

    My name is Ted,
    And one day I’ll be dead yo yo.

  7. The Bishop says:

    Okay, Voice. Was that your rendition of Brokeback Mountain? It’s scary.

  8. stephy says:

    Hipster dufus…so true! hilarious!

Leave a Reply

