2.24.09 Biggest Loser part 1

Posted: February 25, 2009 in Biggest Loser, The Biggest Loser

Once again, I have to voice my objection to the decisions made by the producers of the Biggest Loser

 I understand that ALL shows have a shelf-life.  It won’t last forever.  Eventually the number of viewers begins to wane and the rankings head south.  So the temptation to keep things fresh and novel is always present.  And I’m not against change…even change for the sake of change (otherwise everyone ends up in a rut and finds even good change anathema).

But Biggest Loser is a GREAT show because of the drama of watching lives transformed through MASSIVE amounts of discipline, hard work, intentional choices, and essential introspective reflection on what brought each participant to the point of obesity and in need of RADICAL change.

And we get to see the RADICAL change EVERY WEEK!!  It is amazing.  And we find ourselves rooting each week for the participants.  This show is great in-and-of-itself.  And switching the teams up and splitting teams and assigning a different trainer doesn’t make any of us more GLUED in to this show.  It just irritates us.  And because we love the show we keep watching IN SPITE of these gimmicky and ridiculous decisions. 

So everyone is upset:  Contestants are crying (which can be a little melodramatic); Bob the trainer is crying (again…a little melodramatic); I’m crying (OK…not really)…

It just isn’t necessary.  And it leaves people feeling irritated and disappointed.  The danger for this show is not in the lack sudden shifts and novel ideas to keep everything “fresh” but doing so with such regularity or absurdity that viewers finally have enough of the feeling of irritation and disappointment and turn to a huge bowl of ice cream while flipping over to American Idol or the Food Network to recover!

(by the way…there is a lesson for churches in this too).

Comments
  1. I couldn’t agree more, Sam. I blogged essentially the same thing, and even quoted you from Facebook.

    I agree that I seem to be loving this show IN SPITE OF what the producers keep trying to do to it.

    I actually don’t mind surprises–like bringing back former contestants, etc. I DO mind hurtful, unnecessary changes.

    Sheesh! But I’ll keep watching it for the very reasons you mentioned–the inspiring transformations.

  2. By the way…talk about an embarassment of riches tonight…three of my favorite shows! “Lost,” “American Idol” and “Biggest Loser,” all in one night.

  3. melissa says:

    I think the changes were very sad. But the first thing I thought was how I would want to experience both trainers. And as it turned out a lot of the contestants put out larger numbers than normal. I can’t help but think that this may have something to do with switching up trainers and their entire regimin. It was really sad but definately worth it.

Leave a Reply

