The Delicate Art of Communication

Posted: March 4, 2009 in Uncategorized

Source:  Rex Butts @ Kingdom Seeking

A first grade girl handed in the following drawing for a homework assignment:

After it was graded and the child brought it home, she returned to school the next day with the following note:

Dear Ms. Davis,

I want to be very clear on my child’s illustration.  It is NOT of me on a dance pole on a stage in a strip joint.  I work at Home Depot and had commented to my daughter how much money we made in the recent snowstorm.  This photo is of me selling a shovel.

Comments
  1. Glenn says:

    I’m thinking art school is needed here.

  2. JR says:

    I’m teaching photography at a YWAM School of Field Journalism in South Africa right now… I totally used this in my lesson plan after reading it yesterday morning. I think we devoted about 10 minutes to it and the concepts behind it :o) It was fun getting someone to say “stripper” when I asked what was going on here. No one wanted to state the seemingly obvious.

Leave a Reply

