Not Everybody Likes the Living Stones Church and I’m OK part 3

Posted: March 12, 2009 in Living Stones Church, vision

Final post on this topic…I promise!  I mentioned here and here a list of characteristics of good and Godly people who just typically don’t stay or return to the Living Stones Church.  Here would be the conclusion of my list:

7.  You “Join” the Church Your 1st Week Here

Why is this true?  I have no idea.  But it is totally (Melissa Cooper doesn’t like when I use “totally” like this…but I think it makes me sound like a hip Valley Girl and she is just jealous) our experience.  If someone shows up and on their first week declares they want to “join” the church or be a “member” I know I will never see this person again.  There is a rare exception, but in the main, you won’t last if your are “All-In” your first week here.  We much prefer people just hanging out for a good season, knowing exactly who we are, what we do, and what God has called us to – and then out of that knowledge – decides to be All-In.

8.  You Loath Change

We change things all the time.  We change often because so much of what we try to do doesn’t work! 🙂 So, we need to change it!  Whenever we start something, we do so as a trial period.  If it doesn’t work…we’ll scrap it.  Things change.  Sometimes people need stability in their life and one constant that is concrete and predictable.  We totally understand that.  But if you are looking for your church to be the concrete, predictable, non-changing constant of your life – it won’t be this one.

9.  You Have Socio-Economic Preferences (most people are not consciously aware of this…but we have  seen this at work)

We have some families who are doing quite well here at the Living Stones Church.  But corporately, I bet we fit far better into a “working class” “blue collar” kind of socio-economic category.  We accept everyone.  We have all types of socio-economic classes.  But if you are looking for a more affluent / suburbany / trendy / coffeehouse-sipping / kind of community (I don’t know if these are even the right words) we probably aren’t the church for you.

10.  You are Put Off by Piercings and Tattooed Cleavage

That’s all I’m going to say.  But I’m being as serious as a heart attack!

And I’m talking just from the Pastor’s wife!! 🙂  ok…that part was a joke.

Comments
  1. Michelle says:

    I agree with all 10 points God loves us for who we are not who we are trying to be, I understand we will not keep all people in our church but I feel people that do leave need to know they are missed and were a special part of the body.

Leave a Reply

