Day Three – Brussel Sprouts

Posted: April 6, 2009 in Uncategorized

OK…normally after 24 hours I’m tired of being by myself and ready for my family to get home.  I might have gotten some extra time because of the busyness of Sunday’s activities…but now…on day #3…I’m ready for their return.

BUT…on tap for tonight’s dinner…

I began with some salsa and guacamole with baked whole wheat pita bread chips (Kelly gave me the idea because there is no fat as opposed to normal chips…to my dude friends…stop giggling!).  This was followed by a talapia marinated in a garlic/herb/and wine marinate.  And as a side – brussel sprouts.  They were on sale at Martins.  I’ve never had them.  So, I thought I would give them a shot.  These little fellas are greatly maligned.  No one is neutral to the brussel sprout…until now.  I don’t hate them…but I’m sure not wild about them!

Comments
  1. Dana says:

    Ick. My parents used to torture us with those awful things. Good for you, voluntarily taking the step down brussel sprout lane. Ha Ha!

  2. The Bishop says:

    Dude,

    Your family is lucky they’re in St. Louis tonight. Brussel sprouts are angry little cabbages. You may be making an emergency call to Haz-Mat before the night is out.

  3. Tracy says:

    mmmmm brussel sprouts, tender morsels of goodness! Simmered gently in chicken broth, tossed lightly in unsalted butter and sprinkled with crispy bits of bacon and fresh ground pepper. Truly a treasure of the culinary world.

  4. Melissa says:

    I’ve always loved them. I liked Snuffleupagus when I was a kid and he ate whole cabbages, so I liked to eat brussel sprouts because it was kinda the same thing. 🙂

  5. LateniteMike says:

    WHAT no beets?

    sic sic sic…….

Leave a Reply

