Press Release on Being Superman

Posted: April 7, 2009 in Uncategorized

I, Sam Barrington, just repaired a broken dryer!!  I actually took it apart, found the problem (thanks to the internet), fixed it, and then reassembled!! 

Go ahead all you guy friends of mine…shrug…and blow it off like “what’s the big deal?”  It’s a big deal because I DON’T HAVE A CLUE WHAT I’M DOING!! And, as I’ve reported here before, I have NO handyman/fix-it skills whatsoever!

Look at me now!!

Too bad my father-in-law isn’t here to see this moment.  I bet a tear would come to his eye.

(By the way…in case something happens tonight and I die in a housefire…tell them to being the investigation in the basement…with the dryer) 🙂

Comments
  1. Jim Ruth says:

    As one who is unhandy, let me congratulate you on this fine victory over a machine. I too puff out my chest, such as it is, when I take apart a broken machine, fix said machine (my best victories were against a washing machine and its water pump) and put it back together using all of the parts! Great job!

  2. Melissa says:

    Since I’m a girl, I hope you don’t rain on your man parade, but that’s the best feeling, isn’t it!?!?! I think I’ll have a potty party and invite everyone over once I figure out caulking! (Being a perfectionist actually works against you when it come to figuring out home repairs. Who knew.)

  3. Jennae says:

    NO WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t believe it!! I’m very proud of you 🙂

  4. Doug says:

    Just out of curiosity, what are the odds?

  5. Dana says:

    I have an unbalanced clothes washer, could you come fix it? 😉

  6. scmiller says:

    You will be receiving your man card in the mail shortly.

  7. Ed says:

    I am a bit wary as the actual ‘repair’ was not detailed in the post- could have been as simple as figuring out where the lint trap was and cleaning it to eliminate that faint burning smell in the house.

    If you required use of tools then you are in fact The Man because Team Koczan broke down, stimulated the economy, and owns a new dryer as of last week due to the old one being deemed ‘unrepairable’ but the guy that I called out to assess.

  8. The Bishop says:

    I’m thinking the Koczan dryer was an earmark in the recently passed stimulus legislation.

  9. Glenn says:

    Its better your father-in-law was’nt there. You would of only had to run to the emergency room again.

  10. scmiller says:

    So I checked the news online tonight and saw the headline – “Clothes dryer fire destroys South Bend home” on WNDU’s website.

    And I thought…..

  11. lateniteMike says:

    So just how hard was it to plug it back in?

    scmiller… Laughing histerically… I saw that too…same thought….
    sorry Sam…. we still love ya…

Leave a Reply

