Encouraging E-mail

Posted: April 17, 2009 in Living Stones Church, vision

Dear Living Stoners,

Got this e-mail today.  I’m hoping it is coming across as encouraging more than self-congratulatory on my part.  It was a blessing to me…but it is really more about YOU than me…so I wanted you to see it:

Hi Sam,

I just wanted to let you know that I truly enjoyed visiting Sunday.  The sermon was wonderful (emphasis mine 🙂 )and the music was very energetic!

The one thing that has stayed with me though was the fact that ANYONE can feel welcome!  As I looked around, I saw so many “differences”.  There were different ages, races, attires, personalities … It reminded me of the e-mails that I have read where the ‘unclean’ man sits down in church and no one wants to sit by him.  That man would be SO welcome at Living Stones Church!  The members of the church are truly acting as the body of Christ.  I can honestly say that this is the first church I have been in that no stereotypes could be seen.  No one was left out.  EVERYONE was welcome and everyone was glad to see you!  It is no wonder the church has grown so much since my last visit!

[Name withheld because I didn’t get permission 🙂 …and NO it isn’t my mother!]

Comments
  1. Glenn says:

    I think this person has said it all! What a Great God!

  2. The Bishop says:

    I know the “pride goeth before a fall” but I have to say that I’m very proud of this church to be so loving and accepting and have others see that as a natural part of who they are. I love Living Stoners.

  3. Ed says:

    Well, of course it is. I quote from the March 15th 2009 sermon:

    “This church should be for those who are less than confident about where they stand with God. If you are and feel holy, and good and perfect and you know it, then there may be other churches out there for you. And you should go find them. the Living Stones Church is a place for screwups.”

    I’ve said before, when the wife and I decided to ‘give church a try”, I had a couple in mind I wanted to make the rounds on, with LSC the first on my list. We never made it anywhere else, because this is where God called us to, and we LOVE it. But yeah, Sam, you did say that.. good job!!

  4. scmiller says:

    Awesome, simply and truly awesome. When churches do life instead of church, incredible things happen. You guys are really rockin the south side of town and it ain’t the same no more.

  5. Barney says:

    I am piling on at this point but I have to agree that I have never experienced the love and acceptance that is communicated at Living Stones. The church always takes on the personality of it’s leadership. I am thankful for the leaders at Living Stones Church!! Very grateful.

  6. Michelle says:

    That is so awesome!! We as a church are doing a fantastic job, I like the fact that there is always room for improvement and there is encouragement. I remember that sermon ed, It is totally Gods mission and we are right on. Thanks Sam for your wisdom and strong leadership. Also thanks for all of those who volunteer and help this mission.

Leave a Reply

