Atheist Bus Ads on Transpo Buses

Posted: May 20, 2009 in Culture, faith, South Bend

Burkhart Advertising has approved the display of a billboard on South Bend Transpo buses of a message from an atheist group that states “You can be good without God.”

Should they have done this?

OF COURSE!!!! Why?  BECAUSE WE LIVE IN AMERICA!! And in this country we have a thing called a constitution that has attached to it little amendments that give us certain rights and liberties.  And this is supposed to apply to ALL Americans…not just Christians.

When Christians go berserk over this stuff it betrays the “alien & stranger” status our biblical story mandates for us.  Our indignation, boycotts, and protests are grabs for power and control over a society that God has never intended for us (and as history has taught us…never is to the church’s advantage).  We come across as hypocritical at best.  We want to have the right to display our faith assumptions, but if someone else wants to display theirs (which atheism is…a faith assumption) – we cry foul!!!?  Come on.  The only recourse will be for Burkhart to make a policy that NO faith-based signage can be displayed and now I’m stuck with just Fun Tan advertisements.

And how weak is our faith that it is threatened by a billboard on a Transpo Bus!?  I would much rather see this billboard than one of an aborted fetus.  I have no fear that my child will see a city bus and renounce Christ.  I can see it now…years from now as Isaac is talking about his life journey… “I was driving in my mom’s mini-van down Miami Street and that’s when I saw it.  A sign on a bus that said you can be good without God.  My heart strangely-warmed and I determined everything I knew before was wrong.”  Come on.

If non-Christians see us act for power and control in a hypocritical way…WE WILL lose this battle.

Do I agree with the message this sign intends?  No.  But I don’t agree with Burger King’s either.  That King’s head is huge…and it scares me.

Comments
  1. Jim says:

    And here’s the dirty secret. You can be good without God! My brother, an atheist, is the most morally upright person I’ve ever known.

    The whole ad campaign misses the point.

    But yep, let it be. We’re not called to rail against such things.

  2. Ryan says:

    great stuff!

  3. David says:

    Agreed.
    (Except for the whole Burger King thing.)

  4. K. Rex Butts says:

    I do not like it either when Christians get all hot-and-bothered over stuff like this. In such anger and protest, it appears we are fighting for an earthly kingdom – our earthly kingdom – rather than our Lord’s kingdom which is not of this world.

    Grace and peace,

    Rex

  5. The Bishop says:

    I agree with the premise and conclusion. And, my guess is that this effort by atheists will not be a very winning evangelistic message. Where the atheists’ message is most effective is when it conveys: “Hey, you can be stinkin’ wicked and have a pretty good time without God!” That’s the real money-maker for our godless friends. But the message is usually delivered with a great deal more subtlety and effect. It’s the less obvious enterprises to which we should be alert. Remember: harmless as doves but wise as serpents.

  6. Melissa says:

    The BK ad with the girls with the square butts is pretty creepy too.

  7. Mark says:

    Yes those evil BK Kingons beaming in and nipple pinching you how can you agree with that. (Can I say nipple on here :). ) I havent slept since that Add came out. We need to boycot BK till they remove that add! 🙂

  8. ericbucholtz says:

    If you think BK ads are creepy, go see the child-size dugout dancing replica at the Silverhawks baseball games on Burger King free ticket night. That’ll leave more lasting scars than a bus ad.

  9. A prevailing theme through out scripture is that the people of God are exiles. We’ve always been the counter-culture and yet get all bent outta shape when it becomes clear once again that the USA is indeed part of the world system. That’s the dirty little secret in my opinion, that we’ve been too enamored with the illusion of ‘christian nation.’

  10. Doug says:

    Don’t fear the king.

  11. ed says:

    News flash!!! The Burkhart organization has just released a news story…the atheist advertisement will be changed to include the Burger King and his square-butt dance troupe in their ads…and I really like their chicken sandwich, too :’-(

  12. Ed says:

    Well put Edgar.! ..and.. well all of the comments, even including BK, which has always had creepy based advertising, which I think is the main reason I avoid BK when it comes to making fast food burger choices.

    Could it be that’s where my fascination with ChickFilA comes from? Deep in the subconscious that BK’s “king” is like a haunted memory. Kind of like my fear of CLOWNS!!!!

  13. The Bishop says:

    I don’t know, Ed. Upright cows talking incessantly about Chickenicide – there might be some issues there.

  14. Glenn says:

    Sure you can be good without God but he makes the whole journey worth while. I would much rather have him driving the bus : )

  15. Karen H says:

    You can be good with God, but you can be better with Him! I agree that I’d rather go around town and see that sign than a 10 week aborted fetus!

  16. Jenn says:

    The ACLU got involved thus forcing TRANSPO into submission. They originally refused to post the ads.

  17. scmiller says:

    Actually we ought to welcome it. What a great conversation starter that ad could be!

  18. latenitemike says:

    How about we make up bumper sticker Ads, that say:
    ” BUT IT WON”T GET YOU IN HEAVEN EITHER!!!” —JESUS

  19. […] Bus Follow-Up Back in May I posted a blog about the controversy with Transpo buses advertising an atheist group.  Now, Transpo and Burkhart […]

Leave a Reply

