Just Like Yesterday But Really 16 Years Ago

Posted: September 24, 2009 in Uncategorized

This past weekend Kelly and I traveled to St. Louis to meet five other couples that were our best friends as we graduated from Harding University back in 1993!!!  It was our reunion.  I’m not really good at keeping in touch.  Some of them I had not seen or spoken to in about 13 years.  Yet as soon as we saw one another, we immediately started talking, laughing, and carrying on as if we had seen each other last week.  It is an amazing dynamic.  I have a BUTT load of memories with Tim, Lane, Clint, Byron, and Shawn.  They were with me as God shaped and transformed my life and called me into ministry.  They were there to encourage that journey and to help me grow.  I’m proud of what they have become.  Great husbands (six couples still married after 16 years…we have defied the statistics), fathers, and disciples of Jesus.

One moment of scary truth was when Tim McKenzie (my roommate throughout college) was talking about his oldest daughter who is now a Freshman in High School (Isaac will be there next year).  When he mentioned her being in High School I thought, “Oh man…our kids are about 3 1/2 years from beginning the journey we were on when we first met!”  It was that “we’re getting old” moment.

Comments
  1. The Bishop says:

    I hate to make this observation, but those are all middle-aged people in that picture. I’m glad you were able to reunite.

Leave a Reply

