Alex Writes a Story

Posted: November 4, 2009 in Family

Alex (my almost seven year old) had an assignment at school.  She was to, “Draw a picture of how you look today.  Then write a story about yourself today.”  The teacher in response to Alex’s assignment wrote, “Very good ideas.  But you have no end marks.”  Thus…I give you the longest run-on sentence (with original spelling…and a glimpse into the Barrington conflict):

Today my grandma is coming over.  Today we mite look at the dogs on the computer if there on sale caus we mite get a dog if my dad seys we can caus everybody in my family whant a dog but my dad dosnt becaus he thinks he has to do all the work but he is not going to do eny of the work and we mite go to my favorite restraunt and my favorite restraunt is olive garden I love there bred stiks with the diping sause

[Editor’s note:  I love Olive Garden dipping sauce too!]

Comments
  1. Tina says:

    Get the dog! but try to adopt, please

  2. sister says:

    She is almost 8, and that is exactly how she talks. I know her game. She thinks if she doesn’t have to stop for air or pause (thus a period or ending mark), she won’t give another person a chance to inject their voice into the conversation. I am sooo on to her.

  3. The Bishop says:

    Is that a school uniform in the picture? A for art. A+ for political persuasion.

  4. Steve Miller says:

    I can provide links to the animal rescue sites and shelters in this area 🙂

  5. The Bishop says:

    Steve – spilling gas on the flame. Good one.

  6. alex says:

    Cute but dont get the dog dude. Stand Strong!

  7. Mark says:

    I wasn’t suppose to be the one taking care of our dog either. But who do you think was the one freezing there booty off waiting for dog business to be done.

  8. lori says:

    Don’t listen to Mark. Dogs are great!!!! Who else will greet you when you come home from a long day at work with a wagging tail and all the kisses you want? What could be better than that?

  9. The Bishop says:

    Observations by Mark Twain (aka Samuel Clemens):

    “Heaven goes by favor; if it went by merit, you would stay out and your dog would go in.”

    “If you pick up a starving dog and make him prosperous, he will not bite you. This is the principal difference between a dog and a man.”

    “I have been studying the traits and dispositions of the “lower animals” (so called) and contrasting them with the traits and dispositions of man. I find the result humiliating to me.”

Leave a Reply

