Movie Review: 2012

Posted: November 18, 2009 in Movies

Last night in our growth group I talked about the end times (yea…about the 2nd coming of Jesus, Revelation, death, afterlife, resurrection, etc.).  I described in detail the mysteries of the end, exactly how it was going down, the date in which you could expect it to take place, and how to prepare yourself for the climactic ending.  Yea…it was that good!  I’m sorry you missed it.  If you would like a copy of my notes with these answers, just send me $29.99 and it can all by yours 🙂

Which leads me to review a movie out now called 2012.  It is about the end of the world that is supposedly going to take place on December 21, 2012.  This movie was, in a word…RIDICULOUS.

There might be something to be said for the special effects, but the overall script was LAME!! Very cheesy dialogue (e.g., a couple having problems in their relationship and just as the boyfriend says, “I feel like there is something tearing us a part” the ground opens up underneath them from an earthquake.)

It focuses on one family (John Cusack is the lead) who defies death A MILLION TIMES which is ridiculous.  I totally get the suspension of belief to move a story forward, but when it so ridiculous over and over again for 2 hours and 38  minutes (which is how long it is!) it moves from suspense and tension to slap-stick comedy.  In the end, the dialogue is full of trite and comedic statements while at the same time 6 BILLION PEOPLE ON THE PLANET EARTH PERISH!!  It is absurd.

But…my wife liked it. 🙂

Comments
  1. Buffy Sue says:

    We went and saw it opening night. It was a good movie, I started feeling motion sick as the world was falling apart (not a movie for all those who get motion sick). But the effects were good. As for the length of the movie it was just a little too long.

  2. Sarah Boyce says:

    Kenny and I saw this one too, and I agree with Buffy. After the first ten minutes I felt like I was in airplane turbulence for 2 and a half hours! It was pretty cheesy, but I went in expecting a lame plot and cool special effects. The movie delivered. If you plan to see it here’s my advice: Don’t eat too much popcorn during the previews, and make sure to go potty before the movie starts!

  3. Lori says:

    Will probably still go see the movie. I like these kind of end-of-the-world suspense movies. I know. I’m wierd lol.

  4. Kris B says:

    must be a girl thing! We let things flow over us and don’t take too much stock in the writers’ perceptions! I liked it. After 15 min of set up, it didn’t stop. And I have liked Cusak since 16 candles!

  5. david says:

    uh, sam, i think you can only blame yourself on this one. after seeing the previews for 2012, were you really expecting something with a deep, believable plot and contemplative dialogue? thanks for confirming my suspicions, though, and saving me $20.

  6. Michelle says:

    I saw the Blind Side today. I loved it! It’s based on a true story which makes it even better! (Take kleenex.) Stick around for the credits to see real pictures of the family portrayed.

  7. Mark says:

    The End of the World Arrives Three Years Ahead of Schedule
    I had an interesting pre-cursor while going in to see 2012 . I was with a small group of three, and I handed my tickets to the doorman, who, after ripping them and handing me back the stubs, said: “ Enjoy this graphics , this isn’t the kind of movie you go and see for the dialog.” My friends and I looked at each other and laughed. We were also a bit worried. Did we just drop about $15 bucks each to watch another disaster movie with vacant plot and characters? Are we foolish to expect more than a vacant plot and characters in a disaster movie?
    Fortunately, my answer is “No.” The answer from one of my friends who was with me is “Sort of.” But this isn’t my friends review, it’s mine. All mine! So, the answer is decidedly…”No” on both counts. 2012 proves that you can actually have an entertaining disaster movie as well as a few emotional chords to strike.

  8. […] 2.  Your teenage daughter and her friends want to go and chaperoning this trip will lead to the language and sentiment of “my dad is a hero” in future conversations your daughter might have with a therapist or on the Oprah Winfrey’s show (which I understand to be coming to an end in 2011…just shy of the end of the world as we know (see 2012 movie review). […]

  9. r4i says:

    Well, according to some scientists, the alignment of the sun and the earth on that day is supposed to line up with a black hole in the center of our galaxy, which has the potential to mess with the magnetic poles on our planet, causing them to shift. This would cause a bunch of crazy natural disasters. Who knows. The movie looks good though, at least the CGI anyway!

Leave a Reply

