Eddy Street Commons

Posted: November 19, 2009 in Restaurants, South Bend

Today I had the honor of being treated to some lunch at Five Guys for a delicious bacon-burger and fries by Jeff Hammett (Jeff…I’m sorry if the fry distribution was unbalanced).  I’d never been there.  Delicious.  It was also the first time that I had been to the new Eddy Street Commons.  Wow.  Very nice.  Loved the look of the place.  That area REALLY looks different.

But, now I’m back on the South Side.  I like it here (even if we don’t have a Chipotle, Outpost Sports, Five Guys, blah, blah, blah).  [By the way, I saw another Pastor friend from the West Side hanging out at the same Five Guys.  I don’t want to blow his cover, so I’ll call him by a cryptic pseudonym – bRyan Yazel.

Sidenote:  Last night Alex (my 8 year old daughter) and Kelly were having a conversation and in the conversation Alex asked a question about a woman that Kelly had done some work for.  In the conversation, Kelly told Alex this woman whom Alex was asking about had moved to Granger.  After telling Alex this, she squinted her eyes, bunched up her nose and said, “mmm…Granger…nope…never heard of it.”  South side baby.  South side. 🙂

Comments
  1. The Bishop says:

    Eddy St. Commons looks a lot like the yuppie sections of Carmel, just north of Indianapolis.

  2. eB says:

    What is this city of Granger you speak of?
    Attagirl.

  3. Melissa says:

    I grew up in Granger, but my heart belongs to the south side.

  4. Lori says:

    I can’t believe you have never been to Five Guys. That is one of my favorite places to go. You need to try the bacon dog. Big hot dog with grilled onion, green peppers AND bacon!!!!! Love it!!!

    (BTW…my road is the dividing line between granger and Osceola. I live on the Osceola side. Just so you know lol.)

  5. EdwardLife says:

    After spending early this week driving through BEAUTIFUL Carmel IN, and Clay Terrace twice, I am convinces the failure (and it is) of Erskine Village is a lack of this ‘downtown” type feel that Kite tried to redeem themselves with with Eddy Commons.

    Made a Chipotle run there earlier today. As a relocated East Sider, I felt compelled to run there instead of Main St.

  6. Ann says:

    Granger, what a great place to live! Seriously, we may have a 46530 zip, but our hearts are on the South Side. Maybe someday a little farm will open up on the South Side and Curt will move us there.

  7. Mark says:

    Unfortunately I have to wander in to Granger to Have some Ginos East Pizza well I guess thats still Mishawaka still to close to Granger for me. We need a Ginos on South Side!!!!!

Leave a Reply

