“Actually” Count

Posted: December 9, 2009 in Uncategorized

I asked my wife, “Do I say ‘actually’ a lot?”  She wasn’t sure.  She didn’t think so, but neither of us could really say definitively.

I don’t like the word “actually.”  Not because I’m against getting the “actual” facts, truth, or story…but because when spoken it is typically corrective in nature.

I was riding in the car with someone (don’t worry…it wasn’t anyone from the Michiana area if you are starting to wonder if it was you 🙂 ) and they said “actually” a lot!  Almost every sentence began with “Actually….

I would make a comment, and they would say, “Actually, I heard that it was...”  It was corrective.  Everything I said was being corrected by this obnoxious little word – “actually.”  And thus, the person saying it became obnoxious to me.

I don’t want to say “actually.”

Any words you find most irritating?

Comments
  1. The Bishop says:

    Actually, you might say it a lot. But, actually, I’m not sure. But then again, actually, I wouldn’t have thought about it except that you’ve actually drawn it to my attention. So now, actually, I’m going to be more alert to this correct faux pas.

  2. The Bishop says:

    corrective, actually

  3. david says:

    Actually, there aren’t any words that I find irritating.

  4. Melissa says:

    Irregardless. It is not a word. And punkin, as in punkin pie. It’s puMPkin, people! And using the word “pitcher” in the place of “picture.” My wonderful, perfect boyfriend uses all of the above, and I still let him hang with me so I can apparently get over it. Any ideas how I can tell him “drownded” isn’t a word, though? It’s drowned! I’m not sure I can live with that one.

  5. tina says:

    Melissa, that isn’t as bad as my mom saying “feesh” for fish and “worsh” for “wash”. I agree with you on the word “drownded” that is very irritating.

  6. Tammy says:

    Irritating to me is when people say ‘um’ or ‘uh’ every other or every third word… extremely nerve wracking. Another one is lieberry for library I want to scream when I hear that one.

  7. Julie C says:

    Well, now that we are on a roll, my deal breaker is when someone plans to have their dog “spade.” Come on!

  8. Kneip says:

    How about “excape”?

  9. Janelle says:

    As long as a word is actually a word, it doesn’t bother me.

    …hmm, it didn’t seem so corrective in the middle of a sentence.

  10. Glenn says:

    Surreal, cant stand it!!!

  11. kathy (aka) katrina says:

    Valentime uhm well ah..irregardless of the fact that it’s actually valentine makes me feel all worshed up inside and compels me to excape into another room each time it’s said. This seems uhm actually surreal that someone who I pitcher as a fairly intelligent relative, I mean um well she visits her um lieberry almost as rellijustlee as those of my Catholic family members eat feesh on Fridays during Lent.

    However she was a dear when my kitten, after being spaded actually departed our world and I forgive her flippant use of the word. Why would I actually do this you ask??? when it’s all said and done irregardless I love her dearly. She’ll always be my Valentime!

Leave a Reply

