2010 Resoluting

Posted: December 26, 2009 in Personal Reflections, vision

I’m sitting in a St. Louis Bread Company (Panera Bread in St. Louis) resoluting for 2010.  Yea…I’m a HUGE resolution guy.  That doesn’t mean I accomplish my resolutions, it just means I absolutely LOVE making them.  Lists, goals, plans, agendas for everything.  Don’t be jealous of my personality 🙂 .

Part of the process is looking at the 2009 resolutions.  Brutal.  And yet, I LOVE this sadistic work.

Observations:

  • I have resolutions that have been on my list now for several years with no significant movement.  I now need to decide whether I’m going to re-up for yet another year and be serious about it, or concede that at this time in my life, I need to let it go.
  • My church resolutions have far outpaced my personal resolutions.  This isn’t so much because I’m great at what I do in regards to Pastoring but rather because so many of those resolutions are more dependent on God’s faithfulness than my discipline.
  • I have to live life holistically.  I’ve noticed a decline or failing in any of the following – spiritual, physical, mental, emotional, professional, intellectual, relational, and/or financial tends to affect the whole.
  • You can’t have an infinite number of resolutions (which I tend to do).  You only have 24 hours in a day.  Time management and resolution fulfillment cannot be separated.
  • Perfectionism shouldn’t trump degrees of success.  Even if you aren’t there yet, celebrate you aren’t where you were a year ago.
  • If in 2010 I accomplish my resolutions, will it change the world?  Are my resolutions too small or too “about me”?
  • The status quo of 2009 has to be disrupted.  If I live in 2010 like I did in 2009, I will be in this same place twelve months from now.  So…what gets disrupted in the Status Quo?  What will I resolve to quit doing in 2010 that I am doing in 2009?  What pattern of behavior or issue of time management will get overhauled?
  • What can’t wait?  I have three children.  Isaac is now 13.  Five minutes ago he was 2 years old.  Time is ticking.  And in some areas, I only get one shot. There are no “do-overs.”  I can still learn how to play an instrument in 2018, but I can’t raise my son again.
Comments
  1. scmiller says:

    Great thoughts Sam – and as someone with an oldest son turning 30 next year – your closing observation is exactly right! I’m glad that you and Kelly pour so much into your offspring and I’m thrilled that a pastor of the church understands the best example he can create for the church includes high priority for his family. So many pastors fail as husband or father because too many others come first and far too many churches expect pastors to put family behind every congregational hangnail. Livingstones is very fortunate to have you.

Leave a Reply

