New Year / New Look

Posted: January 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

Yes, you are still at Sam I Am.  I’ve had the same look for the past two years so I decided I would change the look a bit as we go into a new year!

I’ve been at this blog now for three years!!  I can’t believe it.  I’m now entering the fourth year of Sam I Am.  And I love it.  I love to blog.

The past four months have been crazy busy and I know I’ve not been as consistent as I have in the past (as illustrated by the poop picture that stayed up for a week…and yes, I heard about it…from a lot of you).  It is interesting to me how many people have tried to guess my mood or life situation based on the frequency of my blogging.  But blogging, with the exception of a few seasons, has just been easy for me.  I just enjoy it.

As I enter a fourth year, there are a few things I’m hoping to do or change here at Sam I Am:

  1. I want to blog with greater frequency and consistency in 2010.
  2. I want to attempt to have blogs that have a consistent topic for different days of the week (e.g., Sunday reflection, weekly blog post that spouts my opinion on some aspect of church/leadership, photo of the week, some aspect of LSC vision, spotlighting an issue in our community, and in between whatever else comes to mind).
  3. Your comments will be delayed in posting just slightly.  I decided to do an “administrator must approve” for comments.  Don’t worry you didn’t do anything wrong.  It is more about my own obsessive personality.  Anytime anyone comments, I get an e-mail…as soon as you comment!  I would love to say I was disciplined enough to ignore these comments until an opportune time, but far too often, I can’t help myself and I want to read your comments…RIGHT AWAY!!!  Well…I have a full-time job that requires my attention and I need to impose this on myself so that I will be LESS A.D.D. in my work (picture me in a serious sermon preparation mode and I hear a *ding* to inform me that I have a blog comment…my brain then goes… “oh…shiny...a comment!”). 🙂

As a sidenote, I’m having to do this in many areas of my life (e.g., turning off the e-mail notification on my Blackberry phone, having scheduled time to check e-mail on my computer, predetermined and scheduled Facebook time, etc.  😦

So…keep coming back.  Feel free to subscribe in a RSS reader.  Send a link to your friends.  And I hope you will enjoy Sam I Am as we enter into another year!

Comments
  1. david says:

    I must admit I was a little taken back by the new format when I checked in this morning. I notice USA Today did the same thing. You’re a trend-setter.
    It may take me a few weeks to get accustomed to the new look. I guess we all resist change…
    By the way, I’m writing this at 8:24 a.m. CST. I’ll be interested to see how long it takes to be posted.

Leave a Reply

