Confession of Prayer Requests

Posted: February 3, 2010 in Prayer

I don’t ask for prayers from others when I’m worried about something.  I can ask for prayers from others if I’m walking in a particular reality, but I don’t seem to be able to ask for prayers for a “worry” that hasn’t manifested into something that is now reality.  I think the reasons are:

1.  I’m afraid if I speak it out loud it somehow gives my worry more weight than I want it to have; (isn’t that whack?!)

and

2.  Your reaction to my “worried” prayer request might make me more nervous that what I’m worried about is actually something to worry about (e.g., like your facial expression should pretend to be dismissive of my “worry” that “I’ve been vomiting up blood for days and am now concerned that something serious might be wrong.”) 🙂  [this is hypothetical…I’m not vomiting up blood…sorry to scare you dad.]

I don’t like this about myself.

My confession.

Comments
  1. Lori says:

    Pastors in general have no problem praying FOR other people. However, it is not all that uncommon for pastors to not like asking for prayers for THEMSELVES. I have leaned to not be afraid to ask for prayers for myself. You probably figured this out already, since I bug you all the time with requests lol.

  2. Janelle says:

    I wouldn’t say that your fear is “whack”. (…and not just because I would never use that word.) I don’t think that there is anything wrong with being cautious of the words you speak, words are extremely powerful.

    I’ve always looked at worry as a sign that you need to pray. For what it’s worth, here’s my outlook on it: If praying about your worry doesn’t give you peace from the worry then you need to ask others to pray for/with you. If you don’t feel comfortable asking for prayer for a specific worry because it is only a possible reality, then ask for prayer concerning your peace of mind or for direction.

    If that doesn’t work, pray again. 🙂 I’m pretty sure there’s not a limit … sure hope not. I’m also pretty sure that God doesn’t want us to worry or to feel alone in it when we do.

Leave a Reply

