I Want to Be Like That

Posted: April 7, 2010 in Church, Prayer

I’ve got a Pastor friend, Greg Frohna, who when I see him lets me know that every Sunday morning in his prayer time he prays for me as I’m preparing to preach that morning.  It really encourages me.  Not only in a personal and relational way, but it has also encouraged me in a life habit sort of way.

I have from time to time a moment where someone tells me about something they do and I think, “I want to be like that.”  That is what happened when Greg told me of his prayer habit.  I thought, “I want to be like that.”  He didn’t preach at me.  He didn’t even encourage me to imitate his habit.  He just casually mentioned what he did and I thought, “I want to be that kind of a person.”  Side note:  I discovered tithing the same way.  No sermon.  No exhortation.  No intense Bible Study.  One day in casual conversation Lee Camp mentioned his habit of tithing and I thought, “I want to be like that”

So, since the beginning of the year, I have committed time on Sunday morning to pray by name for some churches and Pastors in our area (some Pastors I’m friends with, and some I’ve never met).  It helps me be more Kingdom-minded.

(In no particular order)

  • Southgate Church
  • Deer Run Church of Christ
  • Cornerstone Community Church
  • Church of the Heartland
  • North Liberty Church of Christ
  • Grace Community Church (South Bend & Goshen)
  • Westside Church of Christ
  • Oak Tree Church
  • Keller Park Missionary Church
  • Harris Prairie Church of Christ
  • Trinity Free Evangelical Church
  • Broadway Christian Parish
  • South Side Baptist Church
  • Granger Community Church
  • 1st Christian Rolling Prairie Church
  • St. Joe Valley Church of Christ
  • Christian Center
  • River of Life Church
  • River Valley Church
  • Vineyard Church (south bend/mishawaka)
  • Mt. Carmel Missionary Baptist Church
  • Redeemer Missionary Church

Thanks Greg for a “I want to be like that” moment.

Comments
  1. Lorinda says:

    I want to be like that. But then again I have a long list of things that I want to be like that I’ve been praying about that God hasn’t answered Yet. In his time!!!!!

  2. Lorinda says:

    And in His way!!!

Leave a Reply

