And This is the Problem

Posted: June 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

From a federal report put out today by the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention:

Attitudes about pregnancy are also changing. Nearly 64 percent of teenage boys think it’s acceptable for a teen to have a baby, compared with 50 percent in 2002. Among girls, more than 70 percent now approve, compared with 65 percent in 2002.

After dropping steadily for more than a decade, the teen birth rate in the U.S. rose between 2005 and 2007. Compared with other developed countries, the U.S. posted the remarkably high rate in 2007 of 42 babies per 1,000 teen girls. In Canada, by contrast, only 13 babies are born per 1,000 teen girls.

70% of girls approve of teenage pregnancies!

Comments
  1. I was recently at one of my OB appointments and a teenaged girl in the waiting room told her mom that seeing me made her want a baby SO BAD. Her mom said very loudly, “See that ring on her finger. You need one of those first.” I took that opportunity to tell the girl that she is in NO way prepared for a child.

    It makes me sick and scared. I’m disappointed in the parents and the lack of morals in households these days.

  2. Lorinda Wallin says:

    as the mom of three not yet teenage girls, it scared me!!!! We talk to them all the time about not kissing boys and the order of it all. I just pray everyday that it sinks in.

  3. Kneip says:

    OK, so this is *completely* non-scientific — purely anecdotal — fair warning. But of the young women I have known in youth ministry that did want/approve of/etc. teenage pregnancy, at least some of them, at root, wanted someone to love them. Yes, that does speak to some serious disconnect in terms of the reality of parenting, as well as to some heavy immaturity on their part, but it also makes me very sad for their home/family lives.

    There are many things we can do to help the problem of teenage pregnancy, but among them is helping current parents further along the line of being mature, responsible adults who are loving, non-self-centered parents. It’s not the silver bullet, but it will help. (And to those of you that are already going that direction, let me say: keep it up!)

  4. jennie365 says:

    There are a lot of complex issues to be attacked to counter this.. Quite honestly, I don’t even think this problem is a tough fix. It just needs to be addressed.

    I recently read a magazine that was geared towards African Americans. I couldn’t help but notice the advertisements for some sort of ( for lack of a better description so please forgive my verbage ) “sperm enhancer” for men who want to ( their word ) “sire” many children.

    This is what you get when the only mentoring kids are getting comes in the form of media. Even programming like the reality shows 16 and Pregnant do nothing but glamorize pregnancy.

    I can tell you that at 28 years of age, I wasn’t ready for a baby. I can’t imagine having my son at 16.

Leave a Reply

