Late Night Commercials

Posted: August 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

Saturday night (early Sunday morning) I ended up being awake (sick) from 2:00 a.m. – 6:30 a.m. In an attempt to distract my mind I decided to watch T.V.  I ended up on the movie  Sideways (starring Paul Giamatti – my favorite actor) on the CW channel (I think that is the right name for it) (this is a lot of parenthetical notes don’t you think? 🙂 ).

Anyhow…what was interesting was the commercials that are aired between 2-4 a.m.  I’m assuming there is marketing statistics to back up why you would show the kind of commercials you do.  Based on that, you can get a good picture of the demographic of people who are usually watching the CW between 2-4 a.m.

  • Some dating service called The Quest that has attractive people in scantily clad clothes sitting in front of fireplaces in the middle of the summer just eager and excited to get my phone call at 2:30 a.m. so we can talk.  I don’t know who this girl is, but she is clearly excited to hear from me.
  • Brown-Mackie College goes all out advertising in this time slot.  Specifically directed to people who need a job.
  • Anti-aging cream.  That 90 year old actress just turned into a hot 28 year old.  It’s a miracle!
  • Cash-for-Gold.  I wonder how much I could get for my wedding ring? 🙂  I think it is the only gold I own.  I’m going to assume Kelly would be against this.
  • The Scooter Store.  That lady on the scooter just did a 360!!  Even though it was slow, her face said, “I’m on the Millenium Force at Cedar Point!!!”
  • If I was born between the years 1925-1970 (I missed it by one year), the Heritage something has a great life insurance plan including some funeral planning.  Not what I needed to hear staying awake sick.
  • Montel Williams (yes…THE Montel Williams) did a commercial promising a quick $1000 cash with no credit report necessary.  It was one of those quick cash for jacked interest rates thingies.  Shame on you Montel.
  • Gonderman Law Firm wants your personal injury cases.  And even though they are advertising nationally, he promises to limit the number of his cases to give you the personal attention you deserve.  Pfft.
  • Some diabetes commercial that allows me to check my blood-sugar levels with less pain.

So…there you have it.  Best I can tell…people who are up between 2-4 a.m. are the lonely, the aged, the poor, the unemployed, and the sick.

I wonder if Jesus would have a commercial in that time slot.  Sounds like his preferred demographic.  And if so, what it would say and promise.

Comments
  1. david says:

    Very perceptive tying the late-night commercial demographic to the type of people on whom Jesus focused. Drastically different messages, though.

  2. sister says:

    I can see Jesus sitting in front of the fireplace in his robe (in the middle of summer) holding a phone and eagerly and excitedly waiting for people’s call. I AM a advertising genius.

  3. the other ed says:

    Not many people know this, but Jesus was the originator of the ginsu knoves…they could split the red pea soup

  4. Funerals says:

    Might as well do a bit of funeral planning instead of watching tv at night..

Leave a Reply

