We’ve All Fantasized About It

Posted: August 11, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

A few days ago Steven Slater was an unknown dude working for JetBlue as a flight attendant.  Today, he is becoming a sensation.  As of this morning (and in just a matter of a day), his Facebook fan page has over 102,000 “likes.”  Why?

As a plane was taxing, a passenger stood up to remove his bag from the overhead bin.  Steven Slater, doing his job, told the passenger that he had to remain seated.  The passenger began to cuss out Steven and ultimately Steven was hit in the head with either the baggage or the storage bin.  You can see the story here.

And then…Steven snapped.

He got on the loudspeaker, cussed out the cabin, deployed the emergency chute, (and my favorite) grabbed a beer from the gallery, slid down the chute and went home!!

He is now a hero!  They are already printing t-shirts about him (and here).  Why?  Because EVERYONE has fantasized about doing this!  We live in a world full of rude people; people who don’t think twice about the feelings of others.  This is especially true for those who work in service type industries.  And…Steven snapped.  And he did it dramatically (without actually pulling a gun and killing anyone).

And for that – he has done what many of us have always wanted or fantasized about doing.

[Sam I Am cannot condone the behavior of Steven Slater…but he sure does think it’s funny.]

Comments
  1. Melissa says:

    My first job when I was a freshman in high school was with a catering company, so I’ve worked in service positions for 20 years. (I just choked on my coffee when I realized that) It’s all I’ve ever done. I’ve been in food service, retail, banking, cleaned houses… I’ve been screamed at, cussed at, been threatened and had a can of dog food thrown at me. And I’m a nice person who never has an attitude with anyone! Imagine if I gave a little attitude back! Everyone should have to work in service job at least once in their life. This guy is my hero.

  2. The Bishop says:

    Reports are now coming out from witnesses that were on this flight that maybe there is another side to the story (which there always seems to be).

Leave a Reply

