Missed It By a Hair

Posted: September 21, 2010 in Schools, South Bend
Tags:

If you live in South Bend you’ve probably already seen this on the news about the misspelling on the billboard about our “pubic” schools…oops…I mean “public.”

What is genius (and unintentional) is the amount of publicity this billboard generated.  Had they spelled it correctly, there is a good chance I would have never even heard of this.  Now, I know the website, and the group responsible.  Genius!!!  And so does everyone else on Facebook!!!

As a sidenote, I blame Burkhart for this.  It went up on an electronic billboard last Thursday and wasn’t fixed until Monday.  They have to approve all billboards.  They have people looking at all of these, and NO ONE noticed?!!?  Come on.  And because it is electronic, they can change it with greater ease than the old fashion non-digital boards.  Bad Burkhart.  Bad.

Comments
  1. sister says:

    I can’t believe you said by a hair. Hehehe. Actually it took me a while to notice the mistake too. My eyes immediately put the “l” in there.

  2. kneip says:

    My favorite part of this: apparently it was up for four days before anyone reported it.

  3. genry says:

    Hello my old friend. Only wish I could have been there to share the moment when you heard about this. I know that you had plenty to say about it and I would have enjoyed being part of that discussion. Hope you are well. My best to Kelly! Let me know if you ever get to GA – Kathy and I are less than an hour from Atlanta. Would love to see you guys anytime!!!

  4. the other ed says:

    Quick update on this story…Our beloved sign made it onto the Ellen Degeners show.

Leave a Reply

