I Love South Side Day

Posted: October 8, 2010 in Living Stones Church, vision

Last Sunday was a first for us.  We cancelled our normal three services and gathered at 11:00 to serve the South Side of South Bend.  In the end, the most common comment I heard was, “We have to do that again!”  And I agree.  I loved it.  We began with a brief period of worship and then broke up into a dozen different service/prayer opportunities.  From graffiti clean-up, thank-you to the three firehouses on the South side, to A TON of curb appeal work on Indiana Ave (which was hard work…those who were on Indiana were seriously working hard!!) – it was a great day.  I’m so proud of LSC and those who came out to participate and bless our neighborhood.  HUGE thank you to Jennae Gee and Beth Harsch for coordinating the day.  Thank you to our crew leaders and to so many who loaned their personal equipment or baked cookies.  Thank you thank you thank you.  The South Bend Tribune did come out and do a little story on our day.  I appreciated the story.  There are three errors in it though.  1)  They called me “Reverend.”  I prefer Sam.  2) I never quoted the KJV. 🙂  3) The count was wrong…but if feels prideful to say that out loud.  So rather than saying it out loud, I’ll just let you read it on my blog. 🙂

Comments
  1. Doug says:

    So there were less than 200 members?

  2. Lori says:

    You guys ROCK!!!!!! I hope more churches follow your example. One of the reasons why I miss you guys so much 🙂

  3. Jennifer G.H. says:

    So, what were the numbers?

  4. david says:

    Drums and guitars, oh my!
    This was a great demonstration of the church living out the kingdom of God.
    Thanks for reporting on it, Reverend.

Leave a Reply

