My Eight Year Old is Sorry

Posted: October 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

My little baby girl has lately been in the habit of saying she is “sorry” for everything (she probably gets that from her father 🙂 ).  If she detects at all that we are upset, angry, displeased, or disappointed she very quickly tells us she is “sorry.”  And then she insists on hearing a “you’re forgiven” in response.  Then in her mind we are all supposed to move on and forget about it (even if emotionally you don’t want to yet but now feel obligated to acknowledge a little girl’s apology).  I have a sneaky suspicion that her “sorry” might be a little more manipulative than she realizes (I hope she doesn’t read this blog or she will tell me she is sorry).  But more importantly, I think I might do this to God more than I would care to admit.  I very quickly want to confess it, tell God I’m sorry, and then – let’s move on!  The problem isn’t about whether God will forgive me or not.  The problem is that I’m really trying to manipulate God into not dealing with something deeper going on in me.  My “sorry” is just my attempt to get God to move on and not focus on what probably requires some more Spirit-driven sanctifying (which might be painful).  I think my “sorry” may not be as genuinely remorseful as I want to believe.  I think my “sorry” might really be another form of manipulation.  I wonder if God can see through that.

Comments
  1. Melissa says:

    This picture is a lie. Beagles never feel guilty.

  2. The Bishop says:

    I’m sorry, Melissa.

  3. Barney says:

    Great insight Sam. I get caught in this scenerio as well. Sometimes I hear God saying…”Sorry doesn’t cut it”….My lack of willingness to to move on out of the things God wants me to abaondon disappoints God. He does forgive me but he sure is disappointed because there is so much more he can do with a heart that doesn’t manipultate. He forgives and will move on if we move on.

  4. Julia Circle says:

    Yup…experience speaking here.

Leave a Reply

