My New Year’s Resolutions Are None Of Your Business

Posted: January 6, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:

I’m a huge resolution guy (that is…I’m a huge resolution maker guy…not necessarily a huge resolution accomplisher [new word I’m making up).  Every year I enter into a new year (one of my favorite holidays) with a long list of resolutions.  In 2010 I had 57 of them.  Yes…I said 57.  To give you a glimpse of what kind of year it was, I accomplished 25 of my New Year’s Resolutions.  That means I failed at 32 of them (the majority).

I have always heard that if you want to accomplish a resolution, you should tell people what they are.  That way they can keep you accountable and there is something in sharing a goal that puts pressure on you to actually fulfill it.

Research, however, indicates it is actually quite the opposite.  That when you share your goals, the social affirmation you get in doing so, registers in the brain as an accomplished fact.  The initial encouragement before the goal has even been met actually demotivates one in the end from doing it.

Watch this video for a greater explanation:

So – do you know what my New Year’s Resolutions are for 2011 – THEY AIN’T NONE OF YOUR BUSINESS.  I’ll let you know what they were AFTER I accomplish them.

Comments
  1. sister says:

    My favorite part of this is the intel ad at the very end where the one guy changes a minus sign to a plus sign. Oh my word….that was hilarious.

  2. The Bishop says:

    Solution: Aim low and be self-satisfied. Bill Gates owes me a paycheck.

  3. david says:

    Since you typically make so many goals and you probably won’t attain even half of them, how about sharing with us some of those goals that you’re less likely to attain? Then, at least you will have some warm fuzzies and feel like you actually accomplished something by telling us.

Leave a Reply

