Ted Williams Interviewed With Mother on Today Show

Posted: January 7, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

This morning I watched Ted Williams being interviewed with his mother on the Today Show.  You can watch the interview here (thank you Mindy Hart).

I must confess I was sad and discouraged by the encounter.

Let me say first – I have NO IDEA what it must feel like to be Ted William’s mother.  I have no concept of the pain, anger, sadness, and frustration she must have felt over these past 20+ years.  So, if in that she needs to vent – I guess she needs to vent.

BUT

I’m already worried about Ted Williams and his ability to make it through this instant celebrity status and not relapse into old habits of life.  And I’m not sure heaping on public shame and disappointment is going to help him right now (as shame doesn’t pull ANYONE out of addiction but only drives them deeper).  And that is what I heard from his mother.  She seemed unable to celebrate what has happened to him (and again…maybe she emotionally can’t allow herself to because of what she has been through), and instead seemed more concerned about what her family would think seeing a video of him panhandling.  Her first words to him when they reunited were, “Don’t disappoint me.”

I anticipated a heart-warming segment.  And in the end, it was sad.  It almost made me want to do drugs and alcohol.  So, I feared what it may of caused Ted Williams to want to do!

It was a reminder that life and relationships are difficult and complex.  They are full of emotions, memories, and sensitivities.  While the American public might want a sentimental story, the reality of addictions is far more complicated than what will fit into a neat five minute Today Show segment squeezed between commercials about Bounty towels and Lunesta.

Comments
  1. Melissa says:

    This reminds me a little of when new wife, in love with her husband and thinking he’s the greatest thing ever, doesn’t understand why his children have a strained relationship with him and place the blame on the children or their mother.

  2. teresa bateman says:

    I believe that both Ted and his mother have been through many hard days. We should not judge his mother, because we do not know how many times she has been there for him and he could not be there for her or the other way around. Addiction is a cruel illness. It appears that you can beat it, but the roots are in some people stronger thatn others. I too, am concerned about all of the fast changes. I hope that the media has not done more harm than good.
    I do not know Ted, but many homeless people also have major mental health issues. If he does not, that is great. If he does, those issues should be addressed asap.

  3. Lori says:

    I am worrying about that as well. Particularly since he has not contacted NBC’s pshycologist who has offered to help him with free counseling. What concerns me the most is that the drug people are now watching him on tv and know that he has money again. They are going to come back and try cutting him a deal. Drugs are so hard, almost impossible to overcome. Without the help of these counselors it is going to be too easy for him to slip back into his old lifestyle. I wish him well and hope that he can make it.

  4. Lorinda Wallin says:

    I agree. As a recovering addict, and the sister of 2 addicts I worry about the family relationship. My parents never gave up on us. They are still there for my brother, who is in prison (literally) for his addiction. Although they have been through hell, they stuck with us even when we disappoint them. I cant imagine anything else. I love you mom and dad. Thank you!!!!

  5. Judy Carter says:

    I was VERY upset with his mother’s negative attitude and inability to be happy for him. She was only concerned about her “image”. How sad. I know she has had a lot of disappointments but if he fails again, she will have to shoulder a lot of the blame. Parental support? I don’t think so. How devastating for Ted.

  6. Carl says:

    A theology of perfection and earning heaven leaves no space for grace, takes no mistakes, and less forgiveness. A lesson I take to heart.

Leave a Reply

