Sucked Back Into the American Idol Family

Posted: January 27, 2011 in American Idol
Tags: , ,

Well…on September 24th I very self-righteously announced I was done with American Idol.  You can read my declaration here.

Then last week came the premiere of this season’s American Idol.  My in-laws were in town and when the show started my wife, three kids, and in-laws were all in the family room watching the show.  I was in the other room reading a book…by myself…feeling left out and like an anti-social boob.  So, I went in and watched the show with them.  And…I was hooked.  I love the new judges.  I think Steven Tyler is hilarious (the dude is 60!!).  They have a great chemistry.  I think I prefer them over any of the old judges (who would have guessed?).

But last night, if there were any lingering doubts, it was decided.  I’m a Steven Tyler fan.  It came as the last story of the night.  The story of Chris Medina who was caring for his fiance who was in a tragic car accident two months before they were to marry.  Now, she suffers through the consequences of severe brain injury.  And I’m not talking maybe a slight speech problem or mobility issues – I’m talking severe consequences.  Chris said, “What kind of man would I be if I were to leave her when she needs me the most.”  Wow.  Huge story of fidelity and love.

And then Steven Tyler asked Chris to bring his fiance in.  And the judges greeted her.  But Steven Tyler loved on her in the most gentle and endearing way.  And that was it.  I’m back on the bandwagon (or I fell off the band wagon…I don’t know which one).

Comments
  1. Carl says:

    Very sweet

  2. sister says:

    Crap….let me go get a Kleenex now!! Very sweet and endearing.

  3. Oh Sam…I am TOTALLY with you. I honestly didn’t know if I would ever watch the show again, and here I am, hooked as ever.

    I so agree with you about the way Steven Tyler was with the guy’s fiance. It really impressed me…only someone with a basically tender heart could act like that.

    We’ll see what happens, but it looks like I’m on board again!

  4. Oh just one other thing. I do really like Steven Tyler, EXCEPT for the fact that he turns a little creepy whenever a hot young girl walks in the room.

  5. Cindy – got to agree with you on the borderline creepy factor when hot young girls walk in. AND I wouldn’t mind if he backs off the falsetto scream just a tad bit.

  6. david says:

    I don’t watch Idol, but that was very touching.

Leave a Reply

