Do You Want to Know What a $11,000 Mouth Looks Like

Posted: July 19, 2011 in Family, Finances, Money
Tags: ,

Take a look my friends!  This mouth is going to cost me $11,000!!!  Yep.  My baby girl went today to get braces.  I’ve never seen a kid so excited for braces in my life (she has no idea what is coming).  We took her to Harrington Orthodontist (because it rhymes with Barrington) this morning.  She has three stages.  First, she is missing a permanent tooth, so the first stage is braces that space out her teeth so they can insert a fake tooth (she got that from Kelly’s hillbilly side of the family).  The second stage is typical braces that straightens out her crooked teeth (again…Kelly wore head gear when she was a teenager…pics to come soon).  And the third stage (which can’t happen until she an adult) is a permanent tooth.

Stage 1:  $3500

Stage 2:  $3500

Stage 3:  $4000

Total:  $11,000

I bet after I spend all this money she gets a college scholarship playing hockey and all of this was for nothing!!

Comments
  1. Jim says:

    Holy cow. Way back in ’77, when I got braces, my horribly crooked hillbillly (from my dad’s side) teeth only cost $1500 to straighten. But in ’77 they still used Victorian torture devices to do it.

  2. Kris says:

    But the blue hair streaks make all the difference! Enjoy these times as well, for they will also be gone sooner than you are ready for them to be!

  3. the other ed says:

    I know how you can make that money back…Have Alex go on a promotional tour for the upcoming movie “SMURFS”.

  4. I am incredibly thankful for the money my parents spent on my braces. I don’t think I would have gone on nearly as many dates if I had crooked teeth. I am sure that Alex will be as thankful as I was when she gets asked out on LOTS of dates.

  5. Jennifer H. says:

    Is that with insurance??

Leave a Reply

