My Dad is Sunshine

Posted: August 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

A few days ago we were about to have a youth ministry meeting when my dad pops his head in and shares two stories of death and mayhem.  It was a real pick me up.

Yesterday he stops by my house to drop something off.  He asks if I read the obituaries that day.  He reads them religiously…not just in South Bend but also in Kokomo and who knows where else.  Do you know why?  Because it is about death and my dad obviously needs to see a counselor/therapist.

Anyhow, in response to his question, I reply, “No, why?”  I thought maybe it would be that someone we knew passed away.  Nope.  He just noticed that in the obituaries there was a guy who was born the same day I was (August 30th, 1971…note the date…my birthday is in 5 days) died.

That was it.  My dad is sunshine.

Comments
  1. The Bishop says:

    I’ve always enjoyed regaling folks at parties with tales from the Bubonic Plague. It’s a gift.

  2. the other ed says:

    I knew a guy who’s Happy birthday song was, to say the least, uplifting…
    “people die every day,
    death and mayhem in the streets
    today could be your last day
    happy birthday, happy birthday.”

    I think cake tastes better after I’m sung to…

  3. Sister says:

    Bwaahahahaha!!! He is a joy to have around!

Leave a Reply

