Reflections from First Week of Sucker Punched

Posted: September 15, 2011 in Living Stones Church, Preaching, worship

Sunday was a big day in that we were doing several new things.  First, we launched a new message series entitled Sucker Punched.  If you missed the message you can catch it here.  And I would highly recommend you watch Joddi Quam’s video story (also found at the same link) about being Sucker Punched.  Very powerful and moving.

At the same time we launched a third Sunday morning service.  So, now we are doing three Sunday morning services – 9:00, 10:30, & 11:55!

Here are some of my thoughts from Sunday:

  • This is exhausting!!  It was my first & predominant thought. But I’ll get used to it.
  • An apology is in order for the 11:55 attenders for the parking lot fiasco, the check-in at Kids Kanyon, and the late start time.  We obviously have some time issues to work out.  If you go over (like…say…10 minutes) from what you planned, it is impossible to begin another service with a ten minute turnaround time.  Sorry everyone.
  • Going to church at 9:00 a.m. sounds good on Tuesday, but when Sunday morning arrives, those who intended to go at 9:00 end up coming to the 11:55 service!!  I love you, but I don’t trust any stated intentions of what service you will be attending! 🙂  Prior to Sunday everyone acted like 11:55 was way too late to have a service.  *snicker*
  • Great to see so many people!
  • Lots of first time guests!
  • The dynamic between a speaker and an audience is powerful for me.  Because of the time requirements, I actually timed my sermon on Saturday and then early Sunday  morning I got in the pulpit and preached out loud to an empty auditorium (I NEVER do that…like EVER).  The sermon was so bad I literally started to panic afterwards begging God to rescue the morning because it was too late to write a new one.
  • Great job to the band for a long morning as they played back-to-back-to-back.
  • Thankful for three solid teams of volunteers all over the building for three services.
  • After my message I invited people to write on slips of paper in the seat pockets about their sucker punched moment, or a next step, or a prayer request.  I’ve read the slips of paper.  I am completely humbled by the stories that were full of such pain and suffering and also God’s grace and mercy.  It shakes the trite out of me to read them and causes me to seriously reflect the nature of my calling and pastoral ministry to pastor people that God is crazy in love with that have been wounded in life so deeply.  Truly honored.
  • My normal routine between services is now gone.  I’m in the process of trying to quickly discover a new one.  And it feels weird.
I’m looking forward to Sunday.  Week two of Sucker Punched.  This one is dealing with sickness.  This one hits closer to home for me.  See you there.  Bring a friend.  9:00, 10:30, and 11:55 am (or so we hope 🙂 )
Leave a Reply

