Because Sometimes It’s Good to Be Reminded

Posted: September 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

We live in a society that whines and complains about the most trivial things.  We have social mediums in which to publicly broadcast those complaints in a way never seen before.

Enter conversation:  (person one status) “This is the worst day EVER!!!”  (person two comment on status) “What happened?”  (person one’s response to comment on status) “I dropped my cell phone and the protective cover on it broke!!  uggghh!!!!  FML!!!

Sometimes it is good just to get perspective.

Comments
  1. Melissa says:

    Ya know, I hate pictures like this. Why do we constantly have to compare ourselves to others? Why can’t it be OK to think your own situation is bad, whatever it might be? Maybe the person who dropped the cell phone has lived an incredibly charmed life and that really IS the worst thing that’s ever happened to him or her.

  2. Kris says:

    Ya Melissa…and thanks for the reminder Sam!
    From one who had a not so bad day after all :}

  3. david says:

    Melissa, I think the point of the picture is one of perspective. While I might think I’m having a bad day because I spillled coffee all over my shirt as soon as I got to work, it helps to realize how blessed I am to even have a job, and that I have coffee readily available for me without having to hike 2 miles to get semi-brown water and then have to make a fire to boil the water for my coffee. It is estimated that half of the world lives on less than $2 per day, which tells me that I live a truly lavish life dispite needing to wait for an open gas pump at the filling station once in a while, or not getting cell phone coverage in the middle of an “important” phone call.
    Perspective should help me refrain from complaining, if just a little bit.

  4. Melissa says:

    When I lost my mom, I tried very hard to put it in “perspective.” I’m not the only who ever lost a mother and there are worse ways to die than how my mom did. I believe I did myself a disservice. I believe I should have allowed myself just to be sad, without feeling guilty for the extent of my grief or trying to put it on some scale. Walking around in a coffee stained shirt is embarrassing. It just is. Just because there are starving babies in the world doesn’t keep it from being embarrassing, and having “perspective” on it does nothing to feed the babies. So, I guess my point is, I’d much rather see those pictures being used to prompt people to do something about feeding the babies rather than trying to make them feel guilty about whining a little about life’s inconveniences. By the way, I’m training to do free tax prep for low income families Saturday morning. I’m going to grumble a little about having to get up early on a Saturday and I’m not going to feel bad about it! 🙂

  5. Melissa says:

    Let me know if you want to hear what I’ve got against random acts of kindness, too 😉

  6. Melissa – how in the world does dropping your cell phone/spilling coffee on your shirt and losing your mother even compare? And who encouraged you to get “perspective” at her death? You should have permission to grieve as much as your heart, mind, and spirit need, and to whatever extent that takes you.

    And while getting “perspective” after spilling coffee might not do anything to feed the babies it at least insures you don’t think in it you are the center of the universe. And those reminders are always necessary.

    I would say the entirely of the OT prophetic literature is God’s way of showing these pictures and reminding his people – I get you might be frustrated or perturbed at life’s irritations (who isn’t?) – but if you become so consumed with those frustrations that you no longer can see either your blessings or the suffering of those around you – it is sin. And that is the point of the picture.

Leave a Reply

