Winter Program Rules

Posted: December 6, 2011 in Schools

Last night we went to our daughter’s Christmas Winter program.  Tis the season.

I believe there are “rules” that govern appropriate social order and decorum.  I’m into observing these “rules” and wish to enforce them on the rest of society.  Yea…I said it.  It is just part of me ESTJ personality.  It might not be yours, and if so – start your own blog that reflects your ridiculous INFP thinking!  🙂  This desire manifests often.

One such area where I believe “rules”  apply is to Winter programs for elementary school.  Based on what I saw last night, here are the rules I would offer:

  1. I know parents want to have a great “video” record of your child’s performance, but when you stand in the middle of the auditorium to get the “perfect shot”, everyone behind you can no longer see their child.  SIT YOUR BUTT DOWN!!
  2. I’m cool with saving a seat or two for a family member or friend that is going to come a little later.  But when the auditorium is filling up fast and you (by yourself) want to save 15 seats, you are being absurd.  NO MORE SEAT SAVING FOR LARGE GROUPS!!!
  3. No one else’s child is as entertaining to watch as your own.  I get that.  But when you and your family stand up in mass in the middle of the concert because your child’s class performance is finished, it is rude.  We all had to watch your child, suck it up, sit down, and be respectful of all the other students.  NO LEAVING EARLY SIMPLY BECAUSE YOU DON’T WANT TO WATCH THE OTHER KIDS.
  4. It is hard enough to manage the chaos and behavior of hundreds of kids on the stage.  But in the middle of the concert when you are talking at a volume that would indicate you are on a helicopter tarmac, it is uncool.  SHUT YOUR YAPPER DURING THE CONCERT.  (This same principle applies for your screaming child.  Take them out.  To remain is rude and disruptive!)
  5. Before we sing any songs about celebrating Kwanzaa, I’m insisting that we take a survey and see if anyone in the audience actually celebrates Kwanzaa.  Listen…I’m for inclusion.  I’ve got no problem with “Happy Holidays” at Target.  But I’m (at the risk of being politically incorrect) insisting that those who actually celebrate Kwanzaa identify themselves.  Because I’m skeptical the African-American community (especially the ones that reside on the South Side of South Bend) actually celebrate this “holiday.”  NO MORE KWANZAA SONGS (unless it can be proven that it actually applies to anyone present). [side note:  I actually tried to do some research last night after the program at the percentage of people who celebrate Kwanzaa.  Looks like, at best, 2% of African-American families.]
  6. I’m cool with the kids learning new songs for the program.  In fact, I think it is a good idea.  But I think there should at least be a few songs that we are familiar with thrown in to keep us engaged and a part of the holiday season we are all celebrating.  ADD A FEW CLASSIC CHRISTMAS SONGS DURING THE PROGRAM.

I’m available, should the school desire, to work security at these holiday programs to enforce these very important societal rules during elementary school programs.  You’re welcome.

Comments
  1. I’m not looking forward to having to police our concerts next week.

  2. Robert Emery says:

    Well said!! But the fact remains that, in the effort to make sure that no ones rights are infringed upon, everyones rights are infringed upon. People are good to be disrespectful if they know they are in public and socially acceptable behavior and etiquette doesnt apply if they dont want it to. It is amazimg that Christmas plays arent the only venue that this applies to. Church has gotten to that point as well. When, in the middle of singing or the message, I can hear Angry Birds and loud talking about Christmas shopping. So Christmas programs with Christmas songs inst the only institution that people have no respect for.

  3. Sister says:

    Festivus…any songs sang last night for that?

  4. Jennie says:

    THANK YOU my friend!!! I will second all of your points! Very Difficult to sit still and not get up and redirect adults in young children.

  5. Melissa says:

    I was at a funeral Monday where one family kept talking. Not only that, but they got up, left, and came back more than once! At a FUNERAL!

Leave a Reply

