Sabbatical

I’ve heard that ideally – you want to minister out of the overflow of your cup that is being constantly filled by Jesus.  That sounds great.  It sounds idyllic.  I’m curious how many pastors actually feel that they live in that space.  At the moment, I can at least say, I’m not one of them.

For the past four weeks I’ve been preaching a message series entitled “Life on the Vine” out of John 15 on the importance of living a life deeply engrafted in Jesus.  While others listened in, I wrote the messages for myself, knowing that I’m not sure I’m as plugged into Jesus as much as I need to be in order to be the kind of Pastor/Leader I want to be (and the Living Stones Church deserves).  I have some pruning I need God to attend to.  I have some life habits that could use a “restart”.  And my past experience informs me that the only way that happens is when I commit an extended period of time to unplug from the weekly urgency and necessity of daily ministry.

In that posture I hear God better.  He is typically very gracious and speaks to me in ways that reveals my heart condition (thus prodding me to make necessary adjustments, recalibrations, and plain ol’ repentances) as well as vision and direction for the future (specifically for Living Stones Church).

I’m in need of one of those times.  I’ve taken a few of those “assessments” you can take on “clergy burnout” etc.  And it revealed that if I plan on going the long-haul in ministry (which I do…like at least another 25 years [Lord willing] [side note:  statistically – 90% of individuals who enter ministry will not retire from ministry]) I would need to have some time for a “spiritual tune-up” if you will.  So – that is what I’m going to do.

The elders of the Living Stones Church have been very kind, generous, and gracious to me.  They have encouraged me to take a sabbatical for a while (which usually resulted in me brushing off their suggestion because of…well…I’m going to guess fear and pride).  But after conversations with my wife, and her very insistent tone, I’ve decided to take them up on it and enter into a sabbatical season.

As soon as I return from a Junior High Summer Camp with our youth group (August 2nd), I will enter into a Sabbatical until September 9th.  I plan on enjoying some family time, hanging out with some Benedictine monks, and reconnecting in the vine that is Jesus.  I plan on disengaging from a lot, including all social media (e.g., Facebook, Twitter, blog, etc.).

The church is in good hands and is going to grow and thrive in my absence (but not too much because I still would like a job when I get back).  I’m not worried about the church at all.  We have the best staff of any church (I’m a little partial).  Truth be told…they were doing all the work anyhow! 🙂

We have a pretty ambitious plan ahead of us (which is pretty much taking over the world starting on the South Side of South Bend).  And I need to make sure I’m prepared in heart, spirit, and mind to be the kind of leader who can lead such an adventure.

Prayers for me during this time would be most appreciated.  Lord willing, I’ll see you September 9th!

18 Comments

  1. Jim says:

    Gotta let the land lie fallow sometimes. In my line of work, we call this, “taking time to sharpen the saw.” May you come back sharpened.

  2. Robert Emery says:

    I missed church today when you announced this. I want to let you know that you will always be an awesome pastor, teacher, and friend. If this sabbatical is intended to increase these abilities, then the world will be a better place and our church will be better. You have been a wise and patient leader and I look forward to your preaching when you get back. If there is anything you need prayer for, I would be more than happy to return the favor for you.

  3. Theresa Lauver says:

    At least an annual retreat along with strengthen workshops should be part of any pastor’s yearly calendar. Please forgive US if we have kept you from such food. Drink in the Benedictine spiritualism and love on your family laviously! The best medicines for any questioning soul.

  4. david says:

    I was excited to see a new post on your blog, since it’s been so long!
    But then it just tells me I’ll have to wait another month for the next post…

  5. Sue Gerard says:

    Prayers for you and your’s. You are an amazing disciple of God! Your humility and “humanness” are so respected and make you “real”. Thank you for that. Much love and blessings to you on this journey:)

  6. the other ed says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing you this Sunday, my friend.

  7. david says:

    Hey, I thought you were returning September 9th!?
    Where is Sam I am?

  8. Loving my Husband says:

    Do you have anything to say anymore?

  9. Samson says:

    RIP sambarrington.com 2006-2012

  10. david says:

    LET US ALL MOURN THIS DAY, JULY 29TH!! FOR TODAY IS THE FIRST ANNIVERSARY OF THE LAST DAY THAT SAM BARRINGTON POSTED TO HIS FIVE-YEAR BLOG THAT SO MANY OF US FOLLOWED ON A DAILY BASIS AND TO WHICH WE LOOKED FOR GUIDANCE, INSIGHTS, WISDOM AND, YES, OCCASIONAL BATHROOM HUMOR. MAY WE ALL FOREVER REMEMBER THIS DAY WITH FONDNESS AND NOSTALGIA.
    MAY YOUR BLOGOSPHERE-LESS DAYS TREAT YOU WELL, SAM I AM.
    BECAUSE THEY SURE SUCK FOR THE REST OF US.

  11. david says:

    Hey, Sam, we never even got a final blog post indicating that you’re signing off and ending the blog.
    How about that? Your former blog followers want an explanation, and at least a farewell.
    Where’s the love?

  12. david says:

    Just randomly checked this blog today, hoping something might have been posted.
    Sadness.

  13. david says:

    Another year and no posts. Where’s THE LOVE?!??

  14. david says:

    Move along. Move along.
    There’s nothing to see here, just a DEFUNCT WEBSITE.
    Somebody needs to shut this thing down!

  15. David says:

    Dude.
    That’s all I can really say.
    Dude.

    So this is one really long sabbatical. IT’S BEEN 10 FREAKIN’ YEARS!!! Today is the 10th anniversary of the last day that you posted anything to this blog. Let that resonate as we all take a collective moment of silence. Sigh.

    You even promised to get back to us on September 9th! But we’ve heard nothing. I’ve got an alert set up on my MySpace account to tell me if anything gets posted here. But I’ve not gotten any notifications in 10 years. Depressing. Where am I supposed to go now to find the latest viral videos and poop jokes?

    Here’s an idea. Maybe you could start a Twitter account (or even Instagram or TikTok!). That’s a little more trendy than your old-fashioned blog anyway. I think you might be able to get more followers there. But you’re probably not sophisticated enough to figure that out. And you probably wouldn’t have much to say about anything these days anyway.

    And, come to think of it, is there a way to shut this dang-blasted blog down? It’s wasting much-needed space on the internet! They’re running out of room, you know, and this defunct blog isn’t helping things. I hope you’re not paying anything to maintain this website, because it’s a waste of money. And I’ll bet that I soon have to somehow pay for this thing under some crazy bill that Biden and the Democrats want to pass to increase my taxes for stupid stuff posted on the internet.

    Anyway, i enjoyed this blog while it was lasted. Most of all, I appreciated your humor, and knowing what was going on in your life. But those days are over.

    So I’ve decided to put the nail in the coffin for this blog by posting the lyrics to a song that always reminds me of Sam I Am. It is “Life is a Highway” by Tom Cochrane from 1991. I think it’s apropos and fitting for the final posting on this fossilized blog.
    Goodbye.
    Signing off.
    Once.
    And.
    For.
    All.

    LIFE IS A HIGHWAY
    Whoo!
    Mmm, yeah

    Life’s like a road that you travel on
    When there’s one day here, and the next day gone
    Sometimes you bend, sometimes you stand
    Sometimes you turn your back to the wind

    There’s a world outside every darkened door
    Where blues won’t haunt you anymore
    Where the brave are free and lovers soar
    Come ride with me to the distant shore

    We won’t hesitate
    To break down the garden gate
    There’s not much time left today, yeah

    Life is a highway
    I wanna ride it all night long
    If you’re goin’ my way
    Well, I wanna drive it all night long

    Through all these cities and all these towns
    It’s in my blood, and it’s all around
    I love you now like I loved you then
    This is the road, and these are the hands

    From Mozambique to those Memphis nights
    The Khyber Pass to Vancouver’s lights
    Knock me down and back up again
    You’re in my blood, I’m not a lonely man

    There’s no load I can’t hold
    A road so rough, this I know
    I’ll be there when the light comes in
    Just tell ’em we’re survivors

    Life is a highway
    I wanna ride it all night long (whoo!)
    If you’re goin’ my way
    I wanna drive it all night long (all night long)

    A-gimme, gimme, gimme, gimme, yeah

    Life is a highway
    Well, I wanna ride it all night long, mmm, yeah
    If you’re goin’ my way (if you’re goin’ my way)
    I wanna drive it all night long (all night long)

    There was a distance between you and I (between you and I)
    A misunderstanding once
    But now we look it in the eye, ooh, yeah
    Mmm, yeah (whoo!)

    There ain’t no load that I can’t hold
    A road so rough, this I know
    I’ll be there when the light comes in
    Tell ’em we’re survivors

    Life is a highway
    Well, I wanna ride it all night long (all night long, yeah)
    If you’re goin’ my way
    Well, I wanna drive it all night long

    A-gimme, gimme, gimme
    A-gimme, gimme, yeah

    Life is a highway (life is a highway)
    I wanna ride it all night long, whoo, ooh, yeah
    If you’re goin’ my way (if you’re goin’ my way)
    I wanna drive it all night long (all night long, yeah)

    C’mon, gimme, gimme, gimme
    Gimme, gimme, gimme, yeah

    Life is a highway
    I wanna ride it all night long
    (Yeah, I wanna drive it all night long, baby)
    If you’re goin’ my way (if you’re goin’ my way)
    I wanna drive it all night long (all night long)

    THE END

Leave a Comment